Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)

h2. Flak Jacket XLJ Sunglasses Sport professionals demand nothing less than the best, and we've answered their challenge for decades. World-class athletes have driven us to create innovation after innovation, including interchangeable lens designs with unbeatable optical clarity. Flak Jacket sunglasses take that to the next level with the latest in performance technology. Stays Ahead of the Sun: Flak Jacket lets you change lenses in seconds to optimize vision in any sport environment. Multiple lens colors are available, and all lenses feature the unbeatable clarity of Oakley's High Definition Optics® (HDO®). Offers a Secure, Custom Fit: Choose the nose pads that give you the best fit — two sizes are included with every frame. Like the stem sleeves, they're made of Unobtainium® to increase grip with perspiration. Oakley's Three-Point Fit optimizes comfort and holds the lenses in precise optical alignment for superior clarity. Optimizes Comfort, Protection and Clarity: Flak Jacket is made of lightweight O Matter® for all-day comfort. Pure Plutonite® lens material filters out 100% of all UV, and Flak Jacket meets ANSI Z87.1 standards for impact protection. The semi-rimless design means there's no frame rim to block downward view. Optical clarity exceeds all ANSI Z87.1 standards, and XYZ Optics® extends razor-sharp vision all the way to the lens periphery. Interchangeable lenses to optimize performance in any environment Durability and all-day comfort of lightweight, stress-resistant O Matter® frame material Optimized peripheral vision and side protection of 8.75 base lens curvature Comfort and performance of Three-Point Fit that holds lenses in precise optical alignment Metal icon accents Optical precision and performance that meets all ANSI Z87.1 standards Impact resistance that meets all ANSI Z87.1 standards for high-mass and high-velocity impact UV protection of Plutonite® lens that filters out 100% of UVA / UVB / UVC & harmful blue light up to 400 nm Glare reduction and tuned light transmission of Iridium® lens coating Adapt to variable light conditions with “ Transitions® SOLFX™” photochromic lenses Multiple interchangeable Unobtainium® nose pad options for customizable and comfortable secure fit Protective sports-specific Oakley Soft Vault included with capacity for extra lenses Available with Oakley Prescription Lenses (+2.00 through -3.00 combined power)
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
25 out of 26(96%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Review 1 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Metalworker
Location: Manayunk, PA
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Impressive!
Date:September 18, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity
I've had these sunglasses for about a week now and I can definitely say that they were one of the best buys that I've ever shelled the extra money out for. They are slightly on the heavy side but much lighter than expected. Their weight is offset slightly by the grip factor that the temples have when wrapping around the sides of your head and they fit very comfortably. Oakley's lens quality is also exceptional in this instance in that there is zero distortion of your surroundings when looking through them. The Iridium coating does not completely eliminate glare but it cuts it by at least 75% (polarized lenses would probably cut the glare factor out entirely) making them easy to drive or ride into the sun on those late afternoon excursions.
Also, this is a pair of sunglasses that will stay put on your head. When I walk into someplace I flip up my sunglasses on my forehead kind of like you would with goggles. with other sunglasses - even light ones - the weight of the frames combined with inferior quality rubber in the nose pieces and temples causes them to slip back down onto my nose after about 10-20 minutes. The Flak Jackets 100% do what they're told & stay exactly where I put them. I keep expecting them to slip down but they have yet to do so even after having them flipped up for hours at a time. The unobtanium rubber works exactly as oakley describes!
The durability of the sunglasses is another thing that impressed me. The rootbeer earsock accessory pack that just came in the other night I managed to put on after getting back from a long night at the bar. After watching the plastic of the temples flexing every which way while trying to get them on I thought for sure that they were going to snap in my inebriated hands. But after about 20 minutes of finagling with the new earsocks I finally got them slid into place and the temples showed absolutely no signs of stress or deformation. I am extremely impressed with the quality of these sunglasses. They are worth every penny!
Now all I've gotta do is pick up some Gold Iridium lenses and I'll be set!
Review 2 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Extremely Light
Heavy
Alannn15
Location: Rio Hondo, TX
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Buy them!
Date:September 12, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Wow, these are great sunglasses! Very light,durable.. Do not put them on your head if your hair is wet they will fog up and get wet, as for all sunglasses. I have droped them a few times and they dont scrach they are very durable! I have had these sunglasses for about one year they are a great product buy them I would recomend them! If you are intrested in them just buy them there totaly worth it!
Review 3 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
EMS541
Location: CT
I use this product for: Golf
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Casually
My face is: On Par
Outstanding
Date:September 1, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
The best pair of sun glasses I have ever purchased. Would recommend these to anyone.
Review 4 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Extremely Light
Heavy
Benn
Location: Yonkers, NY
I use this product for: Other
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Worth every penny!
Date:August 27, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
A great pair of sunglasses, I use my Oakleys mainly when I’m working as a lifeguard or playing baseball. Lifeguarding is a serious job, and there a great pair of sunglasses because there light weight and most of the time I forget that I even have sunglasses on. Once again the only sunglasses I use to protect my eyes are Oakleys!
Review 5 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Anonymous
Iraq Tested
Date:August 15, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Great looking and very durable. Bought these while deployed to Iraq and they didn't fail me. Couldn't ask for more.
Review 6 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
ShredPowPlayGolf
Location: Park City, UT
I use this product for: Golf
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: On Par
Flak Jack
Date:August 1, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, perfect for golf
The best glasses for playing golf, running and chilling I have found yet. The search is over!
Review 7 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Raid
Location: Utah
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Flak Jacket
Date:July 8, 2010
Pros: Optimal clarity
Cons: lacks wind protection
Wind protection for my contact covered eyes is not good, especially at high speed. Also, frames don't stay in postion due helmet coming in contact with ear pieaces. Recently upgraded to the Jawbones, much better!
Review 8 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
bubbaoakleyfever
Location: Fort Smith AR
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 6 months - 1 year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Flak jacket matt black on matt black
Date:July 8, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
this frame is awesome. i forget im wearing them right after i put them on. i would recommend this frame style to any one. these are not just for men. my girlfriend loves them so much she ordered her a pair. great job oakley. there could be more protection but heck thats what m frames are for
Review 9 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hashbrown
Location: Pflugerville, TX
I use this product for: Running
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: On Par
first pair of Oakley's
Date:July 7, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, sport style
Awesome first pair of Oakleys. A friend told me about them and I thought he was crazy for about how much he paid for them, but then I tryed them on and WOW. They were amazing!!! I had to get my own pair and glad I did! There perfect for running, playing around the lake, doing lawn work, or washing the dog!! Its well worth the money!!
Review 10 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
CalB
Location: Birmingham, AL
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Awesome style and quality
Date:June 9, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, fits to your face and doesn't come off
These Oakleys are amazing! There's never a problem when the sun is at it's highest and they also look very stylish. As for durability, they are great. I was playing baseball and a teammate flung the bat after his swing and hit me in the eye. The lenses didn't break and there is a small scratch on them that can't even be seen while wearing them. If you buy Oakleys and take care of them like you should (I mean, they are $200 glasses), you shouldn't have a problem with scratches.
Review 11 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
mark1181
Location: Ohio
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Awesome
Date:June 5, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
The Flaks are my second pair of Oakleys. I had a pair of Gascans and they were good but always falling off...the Flaks are great they are light flexible and they stay on my face. The lenses are strong and as long as you take care of them they will last forever.
Review 12 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
KOD77
Location: Chicago
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: On Par
Great!
Date:May 24, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Got my first pair summer 07, November 09 the Caribbean removed them from my face in a huge wave, they were prescription. On my second pair, still love them. I was hoping they'd stay on my face better when wet, but oh well, learned my lesson. Pain to change the ear socks if you want other colors, and there aren't enough colors available. I really want blue and green colors.
Review 13 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
Aneyerlator
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Best Sunglasses ever purchased
Date:May 18, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
This is the best pair of sunglasses i have ever worn. They fit my face and don't move around when i run or jump. i use them mainly for driving, but bought them for baseball, basketball, and softball. the lenses don't fog up and the hydrophobic lense covering is great when playing hard. don't have to stop and wipe them off.
Review 14 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Extremely Light
Heavy
jSchaf
Location: Detroit, MI
I use this product for: Baseball
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Simply Amazing.
Date:April 21, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, lightweight, Stylish
Other then the amazing blockage of the sun, the clarity is out of this world.
Review 15 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
AirForceSI
Location: Broomall, PA
I use this product for: BMX
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: It's A Big One
Amazing
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I bought a pair of UsStandardIssue. I got matte black, with the Grey lenses, and it even came with the hard case. For 70 bucks these this are amazing. The hydrophobic lenses work amazing, and they are the perfect size, they don't fall off my face, and they are very comfortable and flexible.
Review 16 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
jenf
Location: England
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: Kind of Small
Best Sunglasses I've ever owned
Date:April 13, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare, don't slip
Cons: Fogs up
I have always hated wearing glasses of any kind, including sunglasses, but a year ago I was going on a mountaineering trip to Switzerland and knew a good pair of sunglasses was essential. From the moment I first put the Oakley Flax Jacket XLJ glasses on I fell in love with them. They fit my (slightly small) head perfectly. They don't slip about even when very active and/or sweating. The funny shape to the lenses means your eyes are protected all round, including from reflection off the snow. They provide excellent protection against bright sun, but you can still see with them even in low light (in a tunnel or when you first walk into a shop, etc.). Unlike many other sunglasses, you view through the lenses doesn't seem distorted.
The only drawback I've found is after about a year and a half they started fogging up slightly in very cold weather.
All in all, these are the best sun glasses I've ever owned. (So much so that I am replacing the ones I just lost with an identical pair.)
Review 17 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
ANDO
Location: New York
I use this product for: Driving
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
Great Glass, but...
Date:April 6, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: very small
I was very excited for this glass, i tried the XLJ and loved it but they were extremely small on my face. They did not even cover my entire eye. If you have a smaller face definitely buy these, but if you have a bigger face then consider the Radar or M-Frame.
Review 18 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
shortblock
Location: Evansville, IN
I use this product for: Shooting
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use it: Casually
My face is: On Par
Sticks like Glue
Date:February 17, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, No glare
Cons: Fogs up
These are excellent frames that stay on my face very very well.
The only negative I have found is that they tend to fog up somewhat frequently.
Worth buying though!
Ben
Review 19 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
oneF457z
Location: Columbia, MO
I use this product for: Golf
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Flak Jacket
Date:January 21, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity
This is the one pair of Oakleys that every enthusiast should have! I have multiple lenses (regular, XLJ, polarized, etc) and the versatility is unmatched in my opinion.
These are so light, as some people have mentioned you commonly forget they are on. The ease of lens changing means I can switch my running preference to my golf preference without missing a beat! I can't even think of everything I want to say about these glasses.
I have recommended people to buy these, helped people pick their own pair out, and I will continue to recommend these to new and old Oakley fans forever!
Review 20 for Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium (03-915)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
UrbanGorilla
Location: Amarillo, TX
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
High speed, no drag
Date:October 22, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
The Bonneville Salt Flats forges dreams, tests limits of creations, and offers a fleeting glimpse of the phantom that is speed. The flats beckon me, seduced by a vision of that one perfect run on a motorcycle. When I make the pilgrimage to speed week, surrounded by drag defying shapes and engulfed by the intoxicating aroma of exotic fuels, I’ll be wearing my Flak Jackets. They are at home here; designed by the obsessed and defying convention. “Flaks”, as a buddy of mine refers to them, are the light weight, stripped down, game on, high speed, no drag, purpose driven version of the Straight Jacket. An amazing amalgamation of adrenaline, aerodynamics and all aspect radiation rejection - - , these gems deliver! Any face shape/size will be flattered when adorned by “Flaks”. When you’re going full throttle, pick jet black/black iridium. When styling and profiling go with root beer/bronze.
12next>>