Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)

h2. Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Sunglasses Sport professionals demand nothing less than the best, and we've answered their challenge for decades. World-class athletes have driven us to create innovation after innovation, including interchangeable lens designs with unbeatable optical clarity. Flak Jacket XLJ sunglasses take that to the next level with the latest in performance technology. The lenses in this polarized edition of Flak Jacket XLJ are engineered to block the blinding rays of glare that are magnified by flat surfaces such as snow, water and pavement. Oakley uses a liquid infusion process to eliminate the haze and distortion found with ordinary polarized lenses. Optimized with Oakley polarization, Flak Jacket XLJ offers the best optical performance on the planet. Stays Ahead Of The Sun Flak Jacket XLJ lets you change lenses in seconds to optimize vision in any sport environment. Multiple lens colors are available, and all lenses feature the unbeatable clarity of Oakley's High Definition Optics® (HDO®). Offers A Secure, Custom Fit Choose the nose pads that give you the best fit — two sizes are included with every frame. Like the stem sleeves, they're made of Unobtainium® to increase grip with perspiration. Oakley's Three-Point Fit optimizes comfort and holds the lenses in precise optical alignment for superior clarity. Optimizes Comfort, Protection and Clarity Flak Jacket XLJ is made of lightweight O Matter® for all-day comfort. Pure Plutonite® lens material filters out 100% of all UV, and Flak Jacket XLJ meets ANSI Z87.1 standards for impact protection. The semi-rimless design means there's no frame rim to block downward view. Optical clarity exceeds ANSI Z87.1 standards, and XYZ Optics® extends razor-sharp vision all the way to the lens periphery. Interchangeable lenses to optimize performance in any environment Durability and all-day comfort of lightweight, stress-resistant O Matter® frame material Optimized peripheral vision and side protection of 8.75 base lens curvature Comfort and performance of Three-Point Fit that holds lenses in precise optical alignment Metal icon accents Optical precision and performance that meets ANSI Z87.1 standards Impact resistance that meets ANSI Z87.1 standards for high-mass and high-velocity impact UV protection of Pluonite® lens that filters out 100% of UVA / UVB / UVC & harmful blue light up to 400 nm Minimized glare via technology that produces the best polarized lenses on the planet Glare reduction and tuned light transmission of Iridium® lens coating Multiple interchangeable Unobtainium® nose pad options for customizable and comfortable secure fit Protective sports-specific Oakley Soft Vault included with capacity for extra lenses Available with Oakley Prescription Lenses (+2.00 through -3.00 combined power)
Average Customer Rating:
4.929 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (14 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
14 out of 14(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Review 1 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
JordanFL
Location: Florida
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Amazing Product, my second pair
Date:July 8, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I am a police officer and I wore my first pair of these for about 3-4 years until I finally replaced it. I went right back to the same product. They stay on my face no matter what I have to do with my job and I can see under both low light and bright sun. When these need replacing, I will again be buying the same pair with Polarized lenses.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
RjpJ
Location: New Jersey
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Love the style and clarity
Date:August 18, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I love the fit, the weight is less than any sun glasses I have ever worn.
Review 3 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
A Little Loose
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
chutcher
Location: Texas
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Flak Jacket Review
Date:August 14, 2010
Pros: Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: Uncomfortable
I really like the glasses, but they do not fit comfortable. On e side sits higher than the other. Love the lenses though. Just thought that glasses that cost this much would fit better.
Review 4 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Murfdog
Location: Orlando, Fl
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: On Par
Outstanding
Date:August 10, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, comfortable fit
I am thrilled with my polarized Flak Jackets. I live in sunny Florida and have tried all the brands from Revo to Maui Jim. I have yet to find any sunglasses that can compete with Oakley. Worth every penny....and yes, you get what you pay for with Oakley!
Review 5 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
tgarsk
Location: Wisconsin
I use this product for: Driving
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
My eyes are in heaven!
Date:August 8, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I use these glasses daily and let me tell you, they are amazing! I use them while driving, biking, and playing baseball. They are great all year round. I love the polarized lenses and I've never had a pair of glasses this good for all of my life. I am now going to buy some Oakley Radar Pitch glasses for my son. He also plays baseball and bikes alot. I will ALWAYS buy Oakleys!
Review 6 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Lambo
Location: Hudson, WI
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Better than the naked eye
Date:July 14, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, Stylish, stay snug
I play baseball and these glasses are surreal for the running and everything in between during baseball. They are also stylish and comfortable and i havent taken them off since i got them. Polarized is the coolest thing next to sliced cheese. Yeah they are a little spendy but they will meet all your expectations and then some. I HIGHLY reccomend these sunglasses to anyone who just wants a stylish pair or even for someone who is going to wear them and never take them off.
Review 7 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Extremely Light
Heavy
BenG
Location: Stow,Ohio
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
The Best Yet
Date:June 19, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, beastly
I just got my Flaks a little bit ago. I've never really had nice sunglasses so I wanted the best. I play baseball and these are just perfect. The polarized lenses for my black Flaks just let me see forever. Unlike most sunglasses, Oakleys don't darken things but shade them and enhance my visual clarity. My depth perception is better than normal. If you're skeptical about the price, don't be. Even for my daily sports and life activities these are great. This is the best investment I've ever made. Oakley sunglasses will be the only sunglasses I'll ever buy again.
Review 8 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
djbb
Location: Charlotte, NC
I use this product for: Driving
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Excellent Sunglasses!
Date:June 17, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: pricey
I had been eying these for quite a while, and after losing my half jackets to the dog I decided to bite the bullet and purchase a pair. I absolutely love these! They fit so well you will forget you are wearing them while doing any sort of activity whether it be physical or just wearing them. The lack of glare from the black Iridium and the Polarization is amazing! I'd highly recommend these!
Review 9 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
BigD
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Casually
My face is: On Par
Top Shelf
Date:April 17, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare
These glasses are very stylish and the polarized lenses are the best in the biz.
Review 10 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
andrewb
Location: rocky hill ct
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 6 months - 1 year
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
excellent buy
Date:April 3, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, color enhancement
i have the black iridium polarized lenses and they are fantastic. they is no glare, and the lenses actually give things more color ie, they make grass look greener etc. the frames are very stylish and extremely flexible and durable.
i would recommend these to anyone.
Review 11 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
CHE23J
Location: El Paso, TX
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
SICK
Date:March 29, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: price
The Flak Jacket was the product I immediately reached for after having LASIK done to protect my eyes and investment. I can't say enough good things about how these shades look, feel and perform, so very SICK!
Review 12 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
cdowd9006
Location: Gurnee, IL
I use this product for: Other
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
My face is: On Par
Best sunglasses ever
Date:September 13, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare, sees through water surface
Cons: easily scratched
I worked at a water park in Gurnee, IL as a lifeguard. These sunglasses were perfect to see past the glare on the water to see that bottom of the pool. They were light enough that every once in a while, I would forget that I was wearing them or that I put them on my hat. The fit was also perfect. Prior sunglasses would be so tight on my head that i would begin to form a grove in my head just above my ears where my sunglasses would always lay. Also the grips on these sunglasses actually helped to keep these sunglasses on my face when I had to jump into the pool. Overall I'm very happy with these sunglasses and would recommend them to anyone looking for a good pair of sunglasses to use for lifeguarding, fishing or anything where they are looking at the surface of the water.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Shutoutkid42
Location: LI
I use this product for: Baseball
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Best Sunglasses I've Ever Had
Date:August 27, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, light
I just got contacts and my parents got me these to wear for baseball. they are amazing. i love them. they are light weight and are great for sports, and the all black gives you a low profile look.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Polarized Flak Jacket XLJ Jet Black/Black Iridium Polarized (12-903)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Ciscokid54
Location: Sonora, CA
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Sick
Date:May 7, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare, Stylish
Cons: Fogs up
I got them in jet black for the low profile look. They are sick glasses and I would definatley recomend these for a friend. They do fog up just a bit but not way to much. I guess I will find out more bout the fog when more snow falls next year. Overall I love these glasses and feel that I will be sticken with Oakley because of them.
5 of 5 found this review helpful.