Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)

h2. Radar Range Sunglasses The most demanding sport professionals in the world have fueled 30 years of Oakley innovation. Athletes have won more championships and medals with our sunglasses than with any other single sport product on earth. The heritage continues with Oakley Radar, a milestone in performance technology. Stays Ahead Of The Sun: Radar lets you change lenses in seconds to optimize vision in any sport environment. Many performance lens colors are available, and all lenses feature the unbeatable clarity of Oakley's High Definition Optics® (HDO®). Offers A Secure, Custom Fit: Choose the nosepiece that gives you the best fit – two sizes are included with every frame. Like the stem sleeves, they're made of Unobtainium® to increase grip with perspiration. Oakley's Three-Point Fit optimizes comfort and holds the lenses in precise optical alignment for superior clarity. Optimizes Comfort, Protection and Clarity: Radar is made of lightweight O Matter® for all-day comfort. To keep the heat of competition from swamping you with sweat, the frame geometry creates a cooling flow of air. Pure Plutonite® lens material filters out 100% of all UV, and Radar meets ANSI Z87.1 standards for impact protection. The semi-rimless design means there's no frame rim to block downward view. Optical clarity exceeds ANSI Z87.1 standards, and patented Polaric Ellipsoid™ geometry extends razor-sharp vision all the way to the lens periphery. Durability and all-day comfort of lightweight, stress-resistant O Matter® frame material Integrated surge ports to channel cooling airflow Optimized peripheral view and side coverage of Polaric Ellipsoid™ lens geometry Comfort and performance of Three-Point Fit that holds lenses in precise optical alignment Metal icon accents Optical precision and performance that meets ANSI Z87.1 standards Impact resistance that meets ANSI Z87.1 standards for high-mass and high-velocity impact UV protection of Plutonite® lens that filters out 100% of UVA / UVB / UVC & harmful blue light up to 400nm Glare reduction and tuned light transmission of Iridium® lens coating Interchangeable lenses to optimize performance in any environment Multiple interchangeable Unobtainium® nose pad options for customizable and comfortable secure fit Protective sports-specific Oakley Soft Vault included with capacity for an extra lens Available with Oakley Prescription Lenses (+2.00 to -5.00 with cylinder up to -2.00)
Average Customer Rating:
4.9 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Review 1 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
operator
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: It's A Big One
Cant go wrong with Oakley
Date:September 6, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity
I custom ordered a pair of Radars three years ago and still wear them daily, a testament to the durability of these things. Ive also bought another pair recently to have a different color frame. Ive worn Oakleys for sports, casual wear, and work. Bought these ones for work as I make a living as a crane operator, and I can say I have no trouble looking up into the sun filled sky all day with Oakley sunglasses. The clarity, lense tint, and glare control are superior to all other brands. Cant go wrong with Oakley.
Review 2 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
Carlito
Location: The dirty south
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: On Par
Perfect for cycling
Date:August 30, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, no fogging, sweet case
Cons: price
OK, I was really on the fence about the value of these shades, until a buddy let me try his out on a mtn bike ride over at Tsali Recreation Area in Western NC. Rode with them 3 days in a row: at night, during the day immediately after a massive storm (read = tons of mud and humidity), and on a nice warm afternoon. My impression... Wow.
Here's my take on these shades:
Great clarity, no fogging issues while on the move and very very little while standing still mid-ride (basically none compared to the shades my buddies were wearing), mud/water/sweat bead up nicely rather than smearing the whole lens (a quick squirt from the camelbak took care of mud and grime without even having to use a wipe), extremely comfortable, stay in place nicely, EXCELLENT eye protection (crucial for fellow contact wearers), almost 100% unobstructed field of vision, and when you do want to take them off for a break you can just stick them through the holes on your helmet and not have to worry about them falling off (if you watch the tour, you see the roadies do this a lot).
Needless to say, after my test experience (which spanned a broad range of conditions) I ended up with the Radar Range, gloss black w/ gray lens. Waiting on my vented persimmon path lense to arrive. I'm telling you, these shades rock. If you ride, you can save a lot of money buying another brand, and you may enjoy something else better... I've been riding over 10 years and have been through dozens of glasses ranging from $10 gas station specials to high dollar Smiths, Natives, Spy, Electric, and other Oakleys. These dominate.
BTW, I live in Knoxville and most of our trail networks are near the many lakes in our area. It gets muddy, muggy, and sweaty fast on rides around here. I rode yesterday when the temp was over 90 and humidity was over 80%, and I didn't have the slightest problem with them fogging up.
Also, I recently had a chance to try out the Jawbones, and I really prefer the Radar. Jawbones don't allow as much airflow and tend to fog more, plus you end up with a slightly obstructed field of vision because of the Jawbone frame.
YMMV, but these are it for me. Cats pajamas. Only reason I didn't give these 5 stars all around is the price. Dang these are freaking expensive! Come on Oakley...
Review 3 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Grizzer
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
I use this product for: Shooting
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Sweeeeeeet shades
Date:July 23, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, awesome lookin
Cons: range lense fogs up just a bit
I decided to go the custom route, expensive but worth every penny. Carbon fiber frames, gunmetal o's, positive red iridium path lense, and fire iridium range lense. Both lenses look dang good with the carbon fiber frame. I wear the red path lense for general use and the fire range lense for shooting. The bigger lense offers more protection and enhances contrast, however it does fog up a bit, but clears up quickly. The frame is pretty big so i wouldnt recommend these glasses if you have a smaller head. Overall a great pair of sunglasses.
Review 4 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
MrRadar
Location: Sacramento, CA
I use this product for: Driving
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Radar's are pretty much liquid AWESOME!
Date:June 5, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, they are freaken awsome!
Cons: a wee bit expensive.
I had promised myself that when I moved to California I would finely get some Oakley's. So after several months of saving I finely got some Radars and they have been one of the best investments I have made since moving here! They block all glare and I look like a stud muffin in the proses! I would just like to thank Oakley for making one sweet product!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
bonds00
awesome shades
Date:February 3, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: kinda scratches easy
the best sunglasses I've ever bought.
i would recommend them to everyone who plays sports and needs the perfect pair of shades
Review 6 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
guamsun
Location: Guam
I use this product for: Golf
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
best
Date:August 7, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity
I like this design. This model is great. it looks great n feels good. I also have a pair of m-frame. If you like the m-frames then this model is must but for you. I think I'll get me another pair.
Review 7 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Lance2V
Location: Colorado
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
Great Choice
Date:July 11, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, customize!, vented lenses
Cons: (slight) lens color compared to website view
I've had a few Oakleys over the years and have liked them...I DO have problems fitting my big melon, but the Radars are great. I went with the custom package and my only gripe is the lens wasn't exactly as dark and reflective as I expected, but it works well in bright to low-light conditions so I call it a wash and like it.
I ride bikes a lot and am active outdoors and these glasses fit my head and face well. Not noticeably tight, but they don't bounce around, either. I can't say enough about lens clarity - especially after wearing other sunglasses and putting these back on.
They are as durable as any other glasses, and more than some I've used.
If you're shopping online and have a big head, Radars are the way to go and customizing is great fun.
(I also own M-frames [fit great], GasCans, and Montefrios)
Review 8 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
A Little Loose
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
it12616
Location: Boca Raton, FL
I use this product for: Baseball
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: Kind of Small
Great Buy
Date:July 9, 2009
Pros: Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I play baseball and they are everything i needed. They look and feel great. The only problem i have is that the glasses are a bit big. You can see from the 3erd view that the part resting on yours ears comes out then back in. It makes it kind of big for my head. Other than that i love everything about these glasses
Review 9 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
kyle
I use this product for: Other
I have used this product for: 6 months - 1 year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Best Sunglasses I have ever used.
Date:June 14, 2009
Pros: Optimal clarity, very little glare while boating, indistructible
Cons: needs more poweful hydrophobic coating, radar range is uncomfortable
My dad and I both have Oakley Radars and I must admit that both of us love these sunglasses. Period. I do a ton of boating and wakeboarding during the summertime and alot of skiing in the wintertime and these sunglasses with the normal Black Iridium Len's are very good. But, there is 2 flaws with these sunglasses. The most painful and annoying problem is that if you're wearing a pair with straight stems (like my dad), u will get a MASSIVE headache after a long day of going 80 MPH. The second problem is that the Range lenses are HUGE!!!!! THEIR ABSOLUTELY MASSIVE!!!! I have a large head and I cant smile while wearing them since the bottoms of the sunglasses rub my face. Thats why im getting Radar Path accessory lens. Another is that if the sunglasses get wet, the hydrophobic coating only helps evaporating the water quickly, but it will leave a lot of watermarks, which blocks your view. But excellent sunglasses.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Radar Range Jet Black/Grey (09-664)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
tonelam21
Location: Daly City
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Greatest Sport Glasses
Date:May 20, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
The radars are the best ftting and lightwest sport glasses around! They are the best for sports and outdoors. They give you the best vision and protection when you are out playing your sport. I have confidence with my Oakley radars to help me be the best at my game!!!!!