Product Reviews

DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)

h2. DICTATE 2.0 Prescription Eyewear We shaped our ultra-lightweight X METAL® Titanium with assertive styling for a look that calls the shots. The spring hinges and adjustable nose pads offer a comfortable fit, and the dual-toned temples are sculptured with the art of a true original. You'll find nothing to hook the ears with Oakley frame designs because our Three-Point Fit balances pressure points, so your eyewear stays securely in place and feels like it was made just for you. A metal case comes standard, and you also get a MICROCLEAR™ bag for storage. Eye (A): 51 DBL: 18 B: 27.5 ED: 53.5 Temple: 138 +2.00 to -7.00 Total Power
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (8 reviews)
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
2 out of 8(25%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Review 1 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jacky
Poor durability but excellent style
Date:July 15, 2010
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: durability, quality
I bought a pair 8 months ago. The style and the comfort were above par. However, soon after the purchase, the paint began chipping off. 2-3 months back the rubberized pieces on the temples became slightly unglued, and now they're almost off. I will be contacting the optical store to warranty the eyeglasses. At the very least, considering the amount invested, I would have expected the Oakley's to last several years.
Review 2 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Face fit:
A Little Loose
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Dmon
Location: Roseville, CA
I have used this product for: Over a year
My face is: Kind of Small
Fail
Date:April 23, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Cons: Obstructed views, durable
I have had these glasses for 2 years. however, after 1 year, or the warranty terms, the paint started chipping. Now the entire frame looks like bad. I might just strip the remaining paint off and make it go from Black Chrome to Titanium color. i have not had the issue others have had with the ear piece coming off, but the nose silicon has. Also the screws do come loose quite often requiring me to tighten before I loose something. These frames are meant to only last a year, not handle the normal insurance 2 year replacement. I would caution anyone purchasing these frames.
Review 3 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
Waga
Location: London, UK
I have used this product for: Over a year
My face is: On Par
fails after a year
Date:March 22, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, No glare
Cons: not durable
No problems what-so-ever after a year, but after that...
The paint starts to chip off everywhere... and the screw on the right handside keeps on coming loose.
So now the pair is brown, but with silver titanium poking through 40% of it.
I don't think this pair is a everyday pair, possibly for sunglasses. Shame tho, as I have UV reactive lenses so didn't want to buy another pair.
The padded plasticy area on the arms to keep the glasses onn your head work pretty well and they have not weared down in anyway.
black chrome titanium version reviewed.
Review 4 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
DeGen
I have used this product for: 6 months - 1 year
My face is: On Par
ace Oakley glasses
Date:January 28, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I tried the frames on in the store and thought they looked amazing. When I got them glazed they were better than I could have imagined. They look ace, everyone wants them and not many have them - so they are truly unique.
Yes, they're not for use while sandblasting and you should respect them so they don't get damaged - but this is what you should do with any high-end product. Personally I have no problems taking care of them and they are in pristine condition.
Go buy them!!!
Review 5 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
Linger
Location: CA
I have used this product for: 6 months - 1 year
My face is: On Par
Looks sharp, but not durable
Date:December 6, 2009
Pros: style
Cons: fragile
I love the looks of this frame. It's also very very light especially compared to the prescription "Square Wire" that I also own. My only complaint is that the rubberized glued on earpieces fell off after only 3 to 4 months. I consider these style over substance
Review 6 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Jay5
Location: Denver, Colorado
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
My face is: On Par
Dictate 2.0 problems
Date:November 24, 2009
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: quality of earpieces
I have had two of these frames fail in the same way. After a few months of everyday wear the rubber earpieces fall off due to failure of the glue. It seems that the glue is not able to adhere to the metal frames. My first pair made it possibly five months and my new pair is failing after just three. I could not recommend these based on the quality of workmanship. Otherwise I love the fit and look. I have had other Oakleys with no problems
Review 7 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
ARKing
Location: Los Angeles
I have used this product for: 6 months - 1 year
My face is: It's A Big One
Dictate 2.0
Date:June 19, 2009
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: they are not for everyday use.
I Bought the Dictate 2.0 about 7 months ago and the paint the paint on the side of the frames came off and the Inside cushion is just about gone. I don't think these are made for everyday use, maybe as sunglasses. I love the Design. I hate that I can't find replacement cushions and who keeps manuals or receipts for longer than a month, I know i don't.
Review 8 for DICTATE 2.0 Matte Black/Red (12-347)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Viciousbritish
Location: California
I have used this product for: Over a year
My face is: On Par
Sharp!
Date:June 9, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, great looking, High quality, light weight
These glasses are the best looking and feeling glasses I have ever had. I luv them! They fit and feel great and eveyone always wants them and asks where they can get them. I recommend these to everyone, they are very well made and are super light...yet durable. Great job Oakley....5 stars!!!
2 of 2 found this review helpful.