Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)

h2. MONSTER DOG Sunglasses HIGH DEFINITION OPTICS® (HDO®) combines patented optics and PLUTONITE® lens material that provides 100% UV filtering and unsurpassed impact protection. Durable O MATTER® frame material forms massive fangs around the skull, combining with pure PLUTONITE® lenses to beat ANSI Industrial Standards for impact protection. Patented XYZ OPTICS® maximizes peripheral vision while retaining critical clarity at all angles of view. These sunglasses are tagged with true metal icons. This bulldog of art and technology can be augmented with polarized lenses or IRIDIUM® lens coating for precisely tuned transmission. Extended wrapped frame geometry to fit medium to large faces Lightweight, stress resistant O MATTER® frame material True metal icon accents Sculpturally integrated hinge mechanisms 8.75 base lens curvature, increased lens area, wrap and rake for enhanced peripheral coverage PLUTONITE® lenses to block 100% of all UVA, UVB, UVC and harmful blue light Optional IRIDIUM® coatings and lens tints to reduce glare and heighten contrast XYZ OPTICS® for maximized clarity at all angles of vision, even at lens periphery Exceeds ANSI Z87.1 standards for impact and optical requirements Available with Oakley Prescription Lenses
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (12 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 12(75%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Review 1 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
69HemiGTX
Location: FOB Salerno, Afghanistan
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: It's A Big One
Couldn't be happier... until I lost them
Date:May 24, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: no longer in my posession!
I bought my MDs nearly six years ago, and they were my first pair of Oakley sunglasses. Sadly, I lost them yesterday. They were with me in Korea, Iraq, Afghanistan, Texas, Oklahoma, Georgia, and everywhere in between. Over the course of my ownership, they were more than durable, with only minimal scratches on the lenses. I bought my pair in the PX, so they were military spec, meaning the Os were subdued a dark gunmetal gray. The finish chipped off, revealing the standard chrome finish beneath, but it took a couple years for that to happen. They fit great, looked great, and were always my go-to glasses for everything. I'll be replacing them soon.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Willy
Location: Guayaquil, Ecuador
I use this product for: Beach
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Casually
My face is: On Par
Great SUNGLASSES!
Date:May 17, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: Fogs up
I customized mine with Matte Black frame, Fire Iridium Lens and Team Orange Logo.
I tested it this weekend driving 2 hours to the beach with a shiny bright sun all the highway.
I recommend them for the price, design, perfomance and custom options.
Review 3 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
3tymes
Location: NORCAL
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
Oakley Monster Dogs
Date:May 2, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Added a pair of MD's to my list of Oakleys. I bought them on specs and look alone never having actually tried them on. A friend told me to look into them because I have a big head and often have problems finding glasses with the right fit. These fit great and I love the long "fangs" as they call them. They dont move at all on my head which is always I plus. I use them for all kinds of things, nothing specific. I run in them, drive in them and wear them basically whenever. So if you are like me and have a slightly larger head/ face and are looking for a good set of glasses I recommend these. I will say that if you dont have a bigger head/ face these probably arent for you... BUT I LOVE THEM!
Review 4 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Face fit:
A Little Loose
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
skiquattro
Location: long island, ny
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
monster dog
Date:April 15, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: slides off face no grip
having had the jackets for 10 years i wanted a change. The MD is a great glass however...it does not stay in place! when i bend over the fall off my face, when i put them on top of my head they slide off, when i put them on the back of my hat they fall off...nerver had an issue with my jackets..wish there were rubber arms avail for the dog, then it'd be PERFECT...slightly regretting this purchase.
Review 5 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
ERgh
Location: Bandung, West Java Indonesia
I use this product for: Driving
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
just love em
Date:January 13, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
this monster dog is just greaaaaaaattt...i love em...and girls like it too ;)
Review 6 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
watergrave
Location: Tennessee
I use this product for: Running
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Good 4 big heads!
Date:December 31, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: Fogs up
I've had my Dogs 3 yrs. and still love them. Best O's I've ever owned. Being 6' 2" and weighing 260, it's hard to find O's that fit a large noggin. When i'm trail running or "speed" hiking, they stay snug & I don't worry about them "flying off". I use them for bike riding and when i'm out on the lake. I wish Oakley had a big & tall section on their site.
Review 7 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
OCD88
Location: Abbeville, GA
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
Great Purchase
Date:November 6, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I am a correctional officer from GA, it gets very bright here espically on a quarter mile square of concrete. I have been buying cheap sunglasses and they simply do not work. I am very satisfied with the Oakleys and will buy many more pair if i have to. They fit perfect and are perfect for the job.
Review 8 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
sledelen
Location: Folsom, CA
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Awesome Monsters
Date:October 22, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, many variations
The Monster Dog has intimidated many into the assumption that it is not a pair for them. But once you put a pair on you will be hooked. The large frame and over sized O make this a dominating pair of sunglasses. Wearing the Monster Dog sends the message that the big dog has come out to play. Rugged and durable, yet comfortable, the MD is an all purpose pair. Once you get one, it will not be your last!
Review 9 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Face fit:
Rattles Around
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Chuck
a little on the cheap side...
Date:August 4, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: Fogs up, plastic-like
the lenses on these sunglasses are amazing wit perfect clarity and no distortion of view. However, the frames are a bit too plastic-like, giving it a maybe $30 look to it. I recomend these for sports, but they are not at all for fashion.
Review 10 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Heavy
Heavy
MrNoRgZ
Location: Australia
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Like a Whackjob
My face is: It's A Big One
Favourite Pair Yet...
Date:July 19, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, agressive styling
I bought a brown pair of these glasses when they first came out. 3 days after the purchase the were stolen. I then went through a few other styles but never found anything that looked as agressive and large enough to be in proportion with my face. Upon seeing the Ducati Corsa edition of these sunnies in a shop window i immediately bought them.
They are about the most robust, hardy and solid oakley sunglasses i have ever owned. I have had them for a couple of years now and just this weekend scratched the lenses but the frames are still in brand new condition. so i simply ordered some replacement lenses!
best glasses ever.
Review 11 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
2ndrowlock
Location: PA
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
great purchase
Date:June 17, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I've had the black/amber black polarized version for about 2 years and they are fantastic. I wear them for everything from running to driving to basketball and haven't had a problem yet. I had them on during white-water rafting and they didn't fall off or even fog up. I've owned many different styles of Oakley's over the past 10 years (straight jackets, trenchcoats, juliets, m-frames, romeos, a-wire, spike, eye jacket) and these are my favorite pair. The lenses are great, the frame is comfortable, and they're affordable. Highly recommended!
Review 12 for MONSTER DOG Polished Black/Grey (05-020)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Tight As Hell
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
frost314
Location: Newark, NJ
I use this product for: Other
I have used this product for: 3-6 months
I use it: Casually
My face is: It's A Big One
A bit too big
Date:May 29, 2009
Pros: Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: Uncomfortable
These frames are a nit too big even for my big melon.
They are also very tight at the temples.