Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)

h2. Jawbone Sunglasses Oakley’s legacy of sports performance innovation continues with the new Jawbone. The latest evolution of a coveted design, this frame is like nothing ever seen in the world of sports. Every aspect is engineered around the clarity and protection of High Definition Optics® (HDO®). With Oakley’s new Switchlock™ Technology, the lower part of the frame rim opens to allow easy access for quick lens changing, letting you optimize performance in any light condition. The revolutionary design holds the lenses with a suspension system so stresses on the frame won’t affect the optics. With ordinary frames, flexing can change the surface contours of the lenses, causing optical distortion. The new architecture ensures there’s nothing to diminish the unbeatable clarity of High Definition Optics® (HDO®), and you still get the optimized comfort and fit of a flexible frame design. Pivot the nose piece to unlock the lower jaw and open it for easy lens changing. There’s minimal handling involved, so dirty fingers don’t get all over the lens. The quick-release system closes with a cam that locks each lens securely in place. Oakley engineered the pivoting system with a release mechanism that lets you remove and replace the nose piece with a different size to customize the fit. A comfortably secure fit is essential for athletic competition, so Oakley started this new design with the company’s legendary Three-Point Fit. Instead of hooking the ears like conventional frames, a Three-Point Fit ensures the frame touches the wearer only at the bridge of the nose and the sides of the head. Oakley combined the proprietary fit with specialized bridge geometry and strategically placed flex zones to give the frame a broad range of flexibility while directing stresses away from the lenses. That way, the optics can do their job without the distortion of subtle bending and bowing. Oakley Switchlock™ Technology for an interchangeable lens design that helps you keep up with changing light conditions and maximize performance in any environment. Unobtainium® stem sleeves for a secure fit that increases grip with perspiration. Durable yet comfortably lightweight O Matter® frame material that optimizes protection while maintaining a flexible fit. Interchangeable nose piece for a customizable fit. Unbeatable clarity and visual fidelity with the patented innovations of High Definition Optics® (HDO®), optimized by an entirely new frame architecture that translates frame stresses away from the lenses. Full range of optional lens tints for glare reduction, improved color perception, enhanced contrast and optimized depth perception. Impact protection that meets ANSI Z87.1 standards for high velocity and high mass impact resistance. XYZ Optics® to extend clarity across lens contours that open peripheral vision and improve side protection against sun, wind and impact. Plutonite® lens material for 100% filtering of all UVA, UVB, UVC and harmful blue light up to 400nm. Protective sports-specific Oakley Soft Vault included with capacity for extra lenses Available with Oakley prescription lenses
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 out of 15(87%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Review 1 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
Anonymous
Location: San Diego
I use this product for: Other
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Oakley did it again! :)
Date:August 4, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, light weight, awesome styling
Cons: stretched my budget to it's limit
I've been wearing oakley sun glasses since I bought my first set of "Blades" back in 1987. The fact I'm still here says a lot. I place a lot of importance on customer service and let me tell you I've never had a bad experience when dealing with Oakley. The Jawbones are a departure from my usual style choice. I usually go for the wrap around lenses, but my magnesium m frames stripped a bolt and my pro M's are getting pretty tired and ragged looking after over 7 years of service. I was trying out the Radars and they didn't fit quite right. The sales person showed me the new model (Jawbones) and after a demo and test fit I was sold. They fit great, are vented to prevent fogging , and came with not only a case, but also a set of yellow lenses ( I got the flat black w Black iridium/yellow vented lenses. Home run Oakley! Well done. Also the mountain division cleaning kit with free fluid refills is another great product.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
christopher9
Location: All Over The World
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Best Oakleys i've owned
Date:May 28, 2010
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity
These were flat out the best, most comfortable Oakleys I have ever owned. The fit was perfect, I could wear them for hours, I love them. If I had to pick a con, it would be that the styling is plain for Oakley, but thats really pushing it. I still love these sunglasses
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
BigD14
Location: Columbus, OH
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Jawbone is an Excellent Athlete
Date:April 13, 2010
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, easy to clean, quick lens changes
These are very good sport sunglasses, but fall short of being my favorite pair of Oakleys ever (when it comes down to casual use and how they look while on my face). It's probably just my personal preference and the fact that I've been spoiled by other unbelievably stylish Oakleys before.
On the other hand, I cannot say anything negative about their functionality. The Switchlock Jaw technology is a great way to quickly and easily swap out lenses (as opposed to previous methods). I use these for everyday sporting activities and they work great. They stay in place, offer a ton of coverage, offer great visual clarity, are easily cleaned (because of the Hydrophobic lens coating), and are easily adjusted for changing light conditions.
The Jawbones are a great pair of sport sunglasses, but fall a little short, in my book, when it comes to style (which might just be that they aren't the best shape/fit for my face and probably are a great for others). They really won't look right on smaller faces, so I'd advise you to try a pair on before ordering them. Like I've said, they're great for sports, but probably won't fit everyone idealy.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Maverick
Location: Miami
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Great Value and Performance
Date:December 19, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare, easy to change lenses
Cons: Fogs up
I have been following this product for the last six months now, and finally got my hands on a pair thanks to a very supportive and generous spouse.
As a multisport athlete and a bicycle commuter in South Florida, I am exposed to pretty bright sunlight on a daily basis.
I have owned other pairs of Oakleys through the years and was a bit hesistant to make the investment primarily because the lenses particularly have been a bit delicate-
The ability to change lenses is great especially since sometimes I have to commute in the late afternoon so the dark lenses are a bit too much and a lighter lense is necessary.
Their durability over time remains to be seen but so far, I am a fan.
Review 5 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
inx44
Location: Boca Raton, FL 33428
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Not to Happy About it.
Date:December 8, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, No glare, design
Cons: fragile lenses
The Jawbone has a very nice design, fits very well, good weight, but the lenses are very fragile. I dropped the glasses only once on my garage floor, and the lenses got scratched. Replacement cost: $90.00. I also have a Revo that have been dropped many times and no scratches at all. A sport sunglasses deserved a stronger lenses. I wouldn't recommend this sunglasses for its fragility.
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
swfl
Why can't they just come with one pair of lenses?
Date:July 30, 2009
Pros: Durable, Optimal clarity
Cons: only need one lens
I went over to the Tampa International Oakley store, and checked out the new Jawbones. I was really impressed with them, they have a nice look that sets you apart. When I asked for the price and comes with the glasses, I was surprised that they came with two lenses. In Florida we only need one type of lens, EXTREMELY DARK.
Review 7 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
DeathPig
Location: Amarillo, Texas
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Bone Me
Date:July 29, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I first thought these were a little goofy looking, but after I mountain biked in a pair, I didn’t care what they looked like. Much more comfortable on my head than the M-Frame or Radar and changing out the lenses is much easier. The black on black look ominous while the Retina Burn must be seen in person to appreciate. I also love the Livestrong edition… looks cool and benefits a great cause. I also like the Transitions lens in the silver pair. And after several months of wear, and watching the Tour de France, the appearance has kind of grown on me.
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Face fit:
A Little Loose
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
RCyclist
Location: Miami, FL
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Almost there... But not a full A+
Date:July 29, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, No glare, easiest lens change ever!
Cons: Obstructed views, temples too short, a bit heavy
Thanks to the marketing campaign that Oakley put during the Tour de France, I was able to find out about this new glasses. So as a good consumer and user of Oakley's M frame for years, I decided to get my own pair at the local O store...
When getting Oakley sport sunglasses, I always compare them to their venerable and best selling, M Frames. So here are my findings:
1) The Jawbone are full frame sunglasses, therefore in comparison with the M Frame one will definitely experience some obstruction in the lower and outer corners of the lenses; this becomes more obvious, when doing sport activities such as riding a bike, etc. when one has to look back over their shoulders... However, for a full framed sunglasses, the Jawbone has an extremely unobstructed range of view, thanks to its wide lenses. This brings me to the next topic...
2) Size: perhaps Oakley could come up with a smaller or "women" version of the Jawbone in the future. This will be ideal for people with smaller faces. Such is the case of the with the Radar sunglasses. The women version is a bit smaller than the men and is ideal if one is looking for a smaller snugger fit.
3) For a pair of sunglasses that are heavier than the M Frames; Oakley should have made longer, more curved temples (legs). The temples of the Jawbone, although adequate for the most part, seem to fall short when one tries to put the sunglasses on the head. This is something that many people do when doing sports, while wiping the sweat off their face. When using this sunglasses, they kept falling down towards my forehead while I was cleaning my face!
4) The lens changing system, in one word: PHENOMENAL! Oakley really hit the nail this time with these sunglasses. It is nice to be able replace the lenses and not have to leave smudges all over, and have to clean them repeatedly. However, it is good to mention that this system makes the sunglasses feel a bit flimsier than the M Frame. But this is just a perception, the Jawbones in reality are a nice solid pair of sunglasses!
One should not judge a pair of sunglasses just because it is easier to replace the lens! Before rushing to get a pair of the Jawbones, try other sunglasses from Oakley and move and position them on your head as close as you will when you do your sport activity... With the large, high quality selection Oakley makes, you should find one that will be perfect for you.
Overall, however, I think Oakley has made a great new product. Although the price tag could have been a bit closer to the M Frames (plus a replacement lens).
Review 9 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
shoxpro
Location: socal
I use this product for: Mountain Biking
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
This is science wrap in art
Date:July 25, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity
So far the best versatile performance and stlylish sunglasses ever invented by oakley. Easy and quick to change the lens as well as the nose piece for perfect fit. This is a fit of a Racing jacket reconstructed. I guess it depends what kind of face you have. no fogging with the vented lens. Some users say there is obstruction, for me none. bottomline. Performance guaranteed wrap in style.
Review 10 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
ATB11
Location: Gilmanton, NH
I use this product for: Mountain Biking
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
SICK
Date:July 23, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I have had these for about a month and I couldn't be more happy. Oakley never lets you down.
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
A Little Loose
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Spartan
Location: Oklahoma
I use this product for: Mountain Biking
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: Kind of Small
Bone Daddy Your Life
Date:July 15, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, lenses change easy, eye-catching style
Cons: vents can be distracting at first
I have had these about a month and feel I can give an accurate assessment of the Jawbone now. I use them for mountain biking primarily and casual use as well. I LOVE the big orbitals, which I was a bit apprehensive about because my face is smaller. The sweep is more horizontal than vertical, so the frame looks favorable despite being huge. The frame is lightweight and fits splendidly under my helmet, which was also a concern. The shorter ear stems work well under headgear. I previously rode with Racing Jackets and alternated with the Flak Jackets before getting the Jawbone, and I can honestly say the Jawbone is now my choice for bicycling. The Racing Jackets had a huge frame, so I was used to having the lower portion of the frame in view and grew to appreciate the added protection. Whenever I rode with my Flaks, I would get too much light reflecting back into my vision which negated the benefit of an open frame. Consequently, I like the big “jaw” portion of the lower frame, so this issue may be a matter of preference for the rider. Also, I will add that I appreciate the extra details Oakley added for the Jawbone: not only the included case but a pair of extra lenses for different lighting conditions. Mine are black iridium for most riding in bright conditions, but the spares are yellow for increased contrast for cloudy and overcast. I appreciate how easy the lenses can switch out on these, after having tried the Flaks which were a major pain to change. Overall I am very impressed with the Jawbone and already they are one of my favorite pair. Bone up!
1 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Sirajdn
Location: Singapore
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Best Sunglasses ever owned.. Period
Date:July 4, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
its an awesome looking and fitting sunglasses from Oakley. Love the way it can unlock and open up to change lenses quickly. It fits well on my face . Oakley should sell more lenses separately so that it can be bought and switched around .
Review 13 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
heglock
Location: Glendale, AZ
I use this product for: Shooting
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
Jawbone Versatility
Date:July 1, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, simplicity of lens changes, heavy duty case, two different lenses
The Jawbone comes in a ballistic case with two lens. Black Iridium and HI Yellow. (The silly pic is to illustrate that two lens come with the Jawbones) The ease of changing lenses is amazing. No other Oakley product is as easy to change lenses! As a competition shooter, the ease of making frequent lens changes to meet the ambient light conditions at a match is the most important feature of any glasses I purchase. The Jawbone makes the grade with an A+! As an M-Frame wearer I was somewhat concerned about obstructed views from the frame. The designers must have had that in mind because the frames have minimual obstructed views. The angles used to minimize blockages? The larger lens? I'm not sure how they did it but they did it! The Black Iridium handles the intensity of our bright AZ sunlight with ease. The High Intensity Yellow I use for our evening pistol matches at our club. It gives me clarity and brightens things up! I'm looking forward to other lenses becoming available soon! As for style, I've gotten more unsolicited comments about these glasses than I have for any other model. People seem to love them! In closing, I love my wife...she gave these to me on Father's Day! Gotta love Oakley gifts!
Review 14 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Light
Heavy
Gojira
Location: So. Cal. 90277
I use this product for: Cycling
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Fantastic Fit!
Date:June 28, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, works great w/ helmet!
These are fantastic for what they are designed for......cycling. I have always had a problem with Radars and M-Frames with the fit. I must have a wide noggin because I get head pinch above the ears. I loved the "older" Oakley's because they have more flexible temples, just like these. An added benefit is that they no longer foul my helmet retention device. On the bars I have a great field of view. There is a little intrusion at the bottom edges but after an hour on my first ride I forgot about it. I just hope that Oakley gets the Jade and Black Persimmon lens in soon since it is now so easy to swap out!
Review 15 for Jawbone Matte Black/Black Iridium Vented & Yellow (04-207)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Very Light
Heavy
lepadilla
Location: Boqueron, Puerto Rico.
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Less than a month
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Best new shades !
Date:June 11, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Optimal clarity, lightweight
Iv'e had many Oakley sunglasses over the years and these are by far the best looking set in quite some time !
They look great perfect feel the vents eliminate the fogging caused by the enclosed style frame. Super light and the black iridium is perfect !
0 of 1 found this review helpful.