Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)

h2. X METAL XX Sunglasses Explosive compounds are vaporized at 3600°F to produce the latest addition to the ranks of X METAL®. We matched the hammer earstems of ROMEO® sunglasses with the contours of JULIET® and amplified the orbitals, enhancing coverage for larger facial sizes. Adaptable architecture and XYZ OPTICS® are defining features for the only 3-D sculptured, hypoallergenic, all-metal frames on earth. X METAL XX features Oakley HYDROPHOBIC™, a permanent lens coating that prevents rain and sweat from building up on the lens. It also repels skin oils and other contaminates, so the lens is smudge resistant and easy to keep clean. It even eliminates static electricity, so dirt and dust particles won't cling. Ultra hi-strength X METAL® Titanium frame material 8.75 base lens technology with HIGH DEFINITION OPTICS® (HDO®) HYDROPHOBIC™ lens coating UNOBTAINIUM® earsocks and nose pads for increased comfort and performance Available with Oakley Authentic Prescription Lenses (+2.00 to -4.00 with cylinder up to -3.00)
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Review 1 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
Usmc1968
Location: Maryland
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: It's A Big One
Awesome
Date:September 17, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity
Cons: Obstructed views, nose bombs can come off easy.
I bought these about 5 years ago because I was tired of sitting and breaking glasses (They look cool as well :-)), wanted strong durable glasses that I could do anything with and fit my large grape. I found them with the X-Metal XX. I use them for driving, riding my motorcycle, lawn work (strong impact resistant lenses was a big deciding factor). I even ran them over with my tractor, fortunately they partially sank into the grass but they were undamaged!! My only complaint is the nose bombs can come off pretty easily.
I just had them "tuned" by Oakley and they are like brand new!! Awesome , highly recommend them.
Review 2 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
DCCENTRAL1FOX
Location: Oakland, California
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Drop, step and drag test...
Date:August 14, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I've had these frames now for about 7 years and will never change to a different brand or design. One day I dropped them out of my car which was a distance of 3 feet. They landed hard on the bridge and ear pieces. Upon getting out of my car to retrieve them, I not only stepped on them I dragged it across the pavement... I picked them up to inspect the damage and found only small scuff marks. The body wasn't warped in any way... I swear by these shades and recommend them for anyone who loves a good solid pair of shades...
Review 3 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
gtojas
Location: california
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Aggressively
My face is: On Par
excellent glasses
Date:August 8, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
I've had my xx metals for 10 years, wear them almost daily and being a mechanic I am very hard on glasses. I just got replacement ear socks and nose pads for the first time. and am about to replace the lenses, though I probably should have replaced them about 2 years ago . The only problem was when the were new the were a little snug but after some time loosened up and are now very comfortable.
Review 4 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
Zombieslayer
Location: Russellville, AR
I use this product for: Other
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
My opinion
Date:August 2, 2009
Pros: Optimal clarity, great customer service, glasses look kewl as hades
Cons: not recommended for large heads
I was really enthusiastic about the xx metals till I owned them a bit. The things were snug on the side of my head and would give me a headache after a while but, to be perfectly fair, I am a big fellow. My lenses cracked twice and oakley was really good about replacing them (for free I might add) My lenses have cracked a third time and I have given up on them. The glasses would be an awesome choice for smaller headed folks but not for large folk as myself. I still give OAKLEY HIGH MARKS for customer service But overall I was not happy with my glasses considering the price I had paid for them.
Review 5 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
Anonymous
Location: LA
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
the best sunglasses
Date:June 27, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
i love the design and the titanium frame.. it never gets scratches.. the only complain i have is that the lens' glossy coating at the front were removed.. dont know why, but there was no chance that it was scratched on any surface. so that i guess is what you should be careful, the lens. hope they can do something about it coz it cost $60 for the pair of lens.. i'll have it change maybe next week. Hope they can also give us more color options with lens..
Review 6 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
CrabbyAppleton
Location: Central Illinois, USA
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: It's A Big One
X Metal XX could be better
Date:June 18, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable
Cons: poorly designed nose pads
I have had my XX Metals for about 4 years. I wear them, literally, every day. I take very good care of my glasses, so I don't mind paying a little extra for glasses that are quality. My biggest complaint is that like a previous reviewer, the nose pad are very poorly designed. They have a tendency to slip off without you noticing. The nose pads also stick to the side of your nose and pull off when removing the glasses. Of course, the replacement pads are VERY overpriced. I have even gone as far as to buy the cheapy stick-on glasses pad from Walgreens and used those. Other than that, I love the glasses. Just replace the lenses once a year or so and they should last you quite a while.
Review 7 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Kind Of Snug
large
Product Weight:
Normal
Heavy
VANTAGEPETE
Location: QUESADA SPAIN
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: Over a year
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
X METAL
Date:June 7, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare
Cons: nose peice
GLASSES ARE BRILLIANT ,BUT! I KEEP LOOSING NOSE PEICES AND WHAT JOB TO GET NEW ONES,I LIVE IN SPAIN NOW AND NIGH ON IMPOSIBLE TO GET THEM
Review 8 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
BiGCoB
Location: Paris, France
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 6 months - 1 year
I use it: Casually
My face is: It's A Big One
Juliet's big brother
Date:May 28, 2009
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity
This review is for the TiO2/black Iridium variation
I really like the design of the Juliet's, but they are a bit small for my face (that won't stop me from getting one), so the XX are the best alternative for me and my big head.
The TiO2 color gives to the frame something even more interesting than the standard X-metal. Black Iridium lens is a classic and perfectly matches this frame color.
They are a bit heavy, but that's what you get when you choose a big metal frame.
Love them, wear them every day, they are worth it !
0 of 1 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X METAL XX X Metal/Black Iridium (04-144)
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Face fit:
Just Right
large
Product Weight:
Slightly Heavy
Heavy
DoctorOakley
Location: East Brunswick, NJ
I use this product for: Everyday activity
I have used this product for: 1-3 months
I use it: Average
My face is: On Par
Juliet's Big Brother
Date:May 24, 2009
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Optimal clarity, No glare, look great, superb coverage
Cons: noth enough color options
I would recommend these just as much as I would recommend the Juliet. While they do resemble each other, there are a few differences. These provide better eye coverage, are a little bit heavier and have the hammer earstems. If you like the Juliet but prefer bigger lenses and better eye coverage, then the X Metal XX is for you.
2 of 2 found this review helpful.